For more information contact us or email us!

Call Us: +30-2310-850115


Review of Afitos

Distance from Thessaloniki 86 km.

It is a perfectly well preserved traditional village, with rich history and impressive traditional buildings. A well fortified location, with rich vegetation and many springs that has been inhabited since the Neolithic Age.

Here, the Eretrians founded a remarkable colony during the 7 th century BC.
The former name of the village was Afytis. During the 5 th century BC, it was member of the Athenian Alliance and had its own monetary unit. To the village belonged also the famous Sanctuary of Ammon Zeus, which was excavated at the nearby village of Kallithea, as well as a Sanctuary of Dionysus. The King of Macedonia Phillip II destroyed Afytis in 348 BC but the village flourished again during the Hellenistic and Roman Time, probably during the Byzantine Era as well. The Turks destroyed the historical settlement in 1821. It was rebuilt and restored almost immediately.

Sights – archaeological sites:
The traditional village with the stone-paved alleys, the fountains, the houses, and the churches.
The church dedicated to Agios Dimitrios (St Demeter), at the main square, a basilica with dome (1858).
Traditional, renovated houses (the Katsanis mansion, the house of the painter Paralis, the house of the musician Mandakas etc.).
The works of the naive sculptor Pavlis.

Museums :
Folklore museum.

Festival on August 15 (Virgin Mary).

Food - entertainment:
Restaurants, taverns, fish taverns.
Nightclubs at the nearby village of Kallithea.

Look for:
Fresh fish and local traditional delicacies (mezedes).

All water sports.
Walking routes.

There are two beaches, one in each side of the village. They are small, with spotless sea. There are restaurants and bars on both of them.

Accommodation in Afitos